The Builder's Verdict

Directory · Source checked

UK trade suppliers we've source-checked

A directory of 8 major UK builders' merchants plus 6 specialist trade suppliers. Records are grouped by type and shown alphabetically rather than ranked, using each supplier's own published information.

Builders' merchant directory

The full directory was checked between 11 Sept 2026 and 21 Sept 2026. Checked dates are shown per supplier because the evidence was not all reviewed on the same day.

Compare merchant trade accounts →

Bradfords

Checked 20 Sept 2026
Account types
Trade Cash Account, Trade Credit Account. Bradfords also publishes a separate Retail Cash Account, which is not a trade account.
Access
Not stated as trade-only. The trade accounts are aimed at builders, installers, landscapers, plumbers, electricians and other trade professionals, but the pages checked don't describe a proof-of-trade gate for either trade account.

Jewson

Checked 15 Sept 2026
Account types
Cash account, Credit account, Self-Build account, Web login
Access
Not stated as trade-only. Messaging targets both trade professionals and self-builders; the Choose account page checked doesn't describe a proof-of-trade gate.

MKM logo

Checked 11 Sept 2026
Account types
Cash Account, Trade Credit Account.
Access
Not stated as trade-only. Targets tradespeople across several trades and self-builders; no proof-of-trade gate is described on the pages checked.

Screwfix

Checked 11 Sept 2026
Account types
Trade Credit Account (via Trade UK)
Access
Not trade-only. Described as open to "businesses of all sizes", explicitly including tradespeople, PLC companies, schools, government bodies and charities.

Selco

Checked 11 Sept 2026
Account types
Trade Card (cash account), Credit account
Access
Trade-only. Registration requires proof you are a genuine tradesperson or business owner.

Toolstation logo

Checked 11 Sept 2026
Account types
Toolstation Club (general), Trade Club Credit (a credit tier layered on top of Club membership)
Access
Not trade-only. Trade Club Credit sits inside the general, consumer-accessible Toolstation Club, but proof-of-trade documents are required specifically to activate the credit tier.

Travis Perkins logo

Checked 11 Sept 2026
Account types
Cash account, Credit account
Access
Not stated as trade-only. Sign-up is positioned for tradespeople but the account pages checked don't describe a proof-of-trade gate.

Specialist trade suppliers

These businesses use different account models from a general builders' merchant, so we do not force them into the merchant comparison. They are included here where their own current pages publish useful trade-account, discount, credit or specialist-service information.

Electrical

CEF

Checked 21 Sept 2026
Account model
CEF Trade Account
Access
Trade-account registration is available through CEF. The public account page checked does not publish a universal credit-period or fixed discount figure.
Published benefit
Account holders can view account history, request quotations, place orders and keep up with their branch online 24/7.
Pricing / credit
No universal account discount percentage was published on the account page checked, so TBV does not invent one.

Plumbing & heating

City Plumbing

Checked 21 Sept 2026
Account model
Trade Cash account, Trade Credit account
Access
Anyone can buy as a guest, but City Plumbing describes its Cash and Credit accounts as trade accounts and uses them to provide trade pricing and rewards.
Published benefit
Custom trade pricing, same-day collection, account history and free delivery over £75 ex VAT on the current account page; Credit accounts add online invoice/balance management.
Pricing / credit
Newly opened trade Cash/Credit accounts may receive preferential pricing of up to 20% off selected products; the exact discount varies and is not guaranteed across all purchases.

Official-source conflict: City Plumbing's current official pages conflict on credit duration: its account page says 30 days / usually 30 days+, while its FAQ says a Credit Account can allow purchases to be paid up to 60 days later. TBV is preserving that conflict rather than choosing one figure.

Building plastics & roofline

Eurocell

Checked 21 Sept 2026
Account model
Eurocell Trade Account
Access
Trade-account application. Eurocell publishes dedicated trade-account pricing, online-account access and account-manager support.
Published benefit
Trade pricing, a credit facility, online account management and access to Eurocell's branch network for windows, doors, roofline and related building-plastics products.
Pricing / credit
Eurocell publishes exclusive trade-account pricing. Its current account material describes 30-day trade credit / a credit facility allowing 30+ days, rather than a single public discount percentage.

Kitchens & joinery

Howdens

Checked 21 Sept 2026
Account model
Trade cash account, Trade credit account
Access
Trade-only. Howdens says you cannot buy from it without a trade account and requires proof of ID, address and trade status when opening one.
Published benefit
Confidential trade pricing, local-stock access and trade services including online account management, ordering/collection and design support.
Pricing / credit
Confidential trade pricing rather than a public fixed discount. The credit-account route publishes up to 60 days to pay, subject to its trading terms.

Trade retail

Wickes TradePro

Checked 21 Sept 2026
Account model
TradePro membership (pay as you go)
Access
UK-resident registered tradespeople. Wickes requires registration plus proof of trade; its current application asks for two approved forms of trade evidence.
Published benefit
10% TradePro discount in-store and online with no minimum spend, subject to published exclusions. Wickes also provides order history, project lists and member-only offers through the account.
Pricing / credit
Published standard TradePro benefit: 10% off qualifying purchases. Delivery charges and gift vouchers are excluded, and the discount cannot be combined with another voucher/code/coupon.

Plumbing & heating

Wolseley

Checked 21 Sept 2026
Account model
Trade Cash account, Trade Credit account
Access
Trade-account model. Wolseley's current application lets applicants choose Cash or Credit and advertises that a trade account can start trading within 60 minutes.
Published benefit
Trade pricing, Click & Collect across 450+ branches, online order tracking, job lists and access to specialist tools/services including PartsArena.
Pricing / credit
Wolseley promotes its best trade prices to account holders but does not publish one universal discount percentage on the pages checked.

What “source checked” means

Supplier-published facts

These directory records come from official supplier pages. Where a supplier does not publish a detail, we say so rather than filling the gap with a guess.

Conflicts stay visible

If official pages disagree, we preserve the conflict instead of silently choosing the more convenient figure. General-merchant detail remains in the dedicated comparison.

No directory ranking

The records are alphabetical within their type. This is not a “best supplier” list, recommendation or certification, and a commercial relationship cannot buy a ranking or favourable verdict.

Listings and corrections

Organic directory records and factual corrections are free. Suppliers do not need to pay to have an accurate company record here.

Paid enhancements, if offered, are labelled separately and may add space, imagery, offers or contact routes. Payment cannot buy a position, score, recommendation or favourable editorial verdict.

Spot something that has changed? Send a correction. Suppliers interested in clearly-labelled commercial options can see our partner information.